The French Revolution saw an end of the monarchy of France, fundamentally challenging assumptions about kingship. Before 1792 however, the French monarchy had been remarkably stable. How many Kings had there been in the previous 150 years?

Answer: A mere three. Louis XIV (1643-1715), Louis XV (1715-1774) and Louis XVI (1774-1792). By contrast, there had been seven Spanish monarchs in the same period.

Source: Revolutionary France by Francois Furet

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back Home